The One Road – Fiction For Fighting Back

This collection of short stories is reduced to just 99P – Buy and leave a star rating on Amazon.

TheOne Road by Jack Byrne is a gripping collection of stories, beginning with the title piece. Death, abuse, regret, identity, prejudice, and redemption, the individuals here are part of a larger story of a nation coming to grips with its past and the turbulence of modern society. Byrne creates fascinating cast of characters who struggle through and triumph, from the streets of Liverpool and Ireland.
The opening piece The One Road, weaves a powerful tale of resilience in the face of prejudice and loss. This story has everything: love, humor, racism, and a quirky cast of characters to travel with.
Ring of Fire is a short childhood memory with a poignant metaphor of youth. Did you jump?
The Taxman and Walkways in the Sky give us the most tragic, yet human characters in the collection. In The Taxman, Marie, lost until she finds the love of a gangster, believes she has found a refuge from a life of pain and helplessness. Or has she?

In Walkways in the Sky,a boy is witnesses to abuse, that he’s helpless to stop, much like a generation watching their communities battered by a society indifferent to their struggles.
The final story, Born Again, is a creative dive into the way our lives deviate from our intended paths–how our ideals can be easily forgotten and our principles quickly lost. In examining Anthony’s past and present, we too must ask ourselves: Where do our allegiances lie, and have we let complacency and comfort replace conviction and action?


This collection of short stories introduce the characters and world of the Liverpool Mystery Series. The stories show different aspects of the lives of people in a working class community with all the tragedy and comedy of daily life. They come out of a tradition of storytelling that is not afraid to challenge society as it is now, to pose questions about our past, and raise hope for the future. If you like your fiction gritty and realistic, dive in and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

About Me

Thanks for visiting my page. The aim of this page is to let you know what I am working on and allow you to tell me what you think.

I was born and raised in Speke Liverpool, although my parents first lived ‘Under The Bridge’ in Garston, and all my family goes back to Wicklow in Ireland.

The Liverpool Mystery series will be four novels, three books; Under The Bridge, The Morning After, and Fire Next Time are finished. Under The Bridge will be published in Feb 2021 and I hope at least one more will follow later in the year. I am writing The Wicklow Boys now, and I hope to finish it next year.

My writing like my blog is about the lives of working people and how they relate to society as a whole.

My collection of short stories The One Road is available below click to see details.

Create a website or blog at